Sport

Power Shot

I love Wimbledon. I love the tennis. I love the pomp and ceremony. I love that it’s all white, that advertising is almost completely non-existent and I love that the linesmen and ballboys wear custom designed Ralph Lauren from head to toe.  I love that you can get so close to the action. The problem is that you can’t just buy tickets to Wimbledon like every other self respecting sporting event.  If you don’t get lucky in the public ballot or get offered a corporate invitation, your last resort is to join the famous Wimbledon “queue” along with 10,000 other people.  You literally just wait .. and wait and wait until you get to the front of the line and your day’s pass. A few years ago I went really early to get a good spot. It was freezing cold. My vivid memory is of a lady in a purple veleur tracksuit and a 1970’s boom-box parading around the fields. It was excruciating. But I got into the ground. And I was a bitten!

When we moved back to London in April, Wimbledon hit the top of my to do list and nothing was going to stop me from going. I hit the famous queue on week one only to be told I wouldn’t get in until 5pm.  Lucky I have friends in high places (thanks Pam) and just as I was about to leave, I was given a day’s pass. That turned into a berth courtside to watch Roddick. Pure power. I had an inexpensive 300mm zoom with me and actually really enjoyed shooting with it despite its shortcomings. My best shots are the close-ups which I shot on the outside courts.  I was so inspired, a week later I forked out some big time cash for the ladies semi final. I was too far away to get great shots but the tennis was sublime.

I’ve gone for the sepia/vignetted edit. This can verge on the cliched but it just worked here for me. Reminds me of Wimbledon of old.

Enjoy the power.

e*

Leave a Reply

