Design / STUDIO e*

Moooi is Mooi (and so is Frame)

Those of you who have been following my meandering eyes, will know that one of my favourite design-related events is London Design Festival.  When I was based in London and September rolled around, my heart would skip a few beats with the prospect of immersing in the trend-setting and invigorating design that would be exhibited in venues across the city.  I am currently working on my Design Festival 2011 post, but in the interim, here is an online article that I penned for Australian design portal Indesignlive featuring an Australian contender for the prestigious Frame Moooi Award.  Innovative furniture and lighting design outfit Moooi presented a Marcel Wanders and Creatmosphere-designed installation called Mermaids at Tom Dixon’s Portobello Dock during the festival and the PR team introduced me to this relatively new award.  Moooi and one of my favourite design magazines Amsterdam-based Frame have teamed up, creating a design competition celebrating bespoke lighting and furnishings for specific interior projects. Facet Studio have been shortlisted for their “shoe-box” installation at Sneakerology in the Westfield Pitt Street mall in Sydney.  Their design was selected out of over 800 submissions by the award’s juror who is none other than style guru Philipe Starck.  I just love what they’ve done to “elevate” sneakers from terra firma to museum-like status.  I will certainly be watching this practice’s growing portfolio with a beady eye.

Leave a Reply

