Design / Interiors / Photography / STUDIO e*

A Fresh Luminary

I came across Volker Haug‘s work through Matt Woods, who designed the interior of one of Sydney’s hippest eateries, Bloodwood.  I interviewed Matt about his design of the space for Artichoke Magazine soon after I arrived in Sydney.  Volker, a lighting designer from Melbourne, is the talent responsible for the funky antleresque light fittings that colonize the space. (Still a firm favourite!)

As a designer, I’m always drawn to new ways of looking at everyday objects, and while light fittings get a lot of press attention, I’m always on the prowl for something fresh and standout. Volker Haug’s work really fits the bill, as it makes use of seemingly banal objects to create something beautiful but also functional.

Instead of the local builder’s hardware store, Volker is likely to be spotted shopping for materials at speciality shops, supermarkets and salvage yards. His pieces have included elements as varied as plumbing joints, tea strainers, discarded leather, humble, everyday laundry pegs and calligraphy brushes

Since writing about Bloodwood, I interviewed Volker for TL Mag and have been following his collection ever since.  So, on one of my recent trips to Melbourne, I went to meet the man himself.  (Delightful as you can imagine!)  Volker has recently moved into a new spacious studio space in Brunswick East, which functions as both his workshop and showroom.

I don’t consider myself a “collector” as such, but there are two things, I cannot seem to get enough of – good quality magazines and LAMPS!  So you can imagine how I felt walking into Volker’s showroom.  No surprises then when I tell you that I just had to buy one of his designs – and one of my personal favourites – the “Fishing Lamp”.  (See pic No 9 below)

It was a tough decision.

If budget were no object, I would also have snapped up a few “Candy and Glams”, “Old Skools”, “Birds in Space” and of course a handful of wall mounted “Rudolf” fittings.

Don’t you also just love  “Peggy Sue” and his bygone-era-chandeliers-pimped-in-leather (my description)?!  Aside from Volker’s imaginative use of everyday objects I love the sense of humour that permeates his work and the fact that his designs are both refined and balanced, yet quirky.

To ogle over a few more of Volker’s designs, head to his website.  I do – regularly.

———

120806-07 Melbourne 41 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 39 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 34 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 33 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 32 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 38 - Version 2
120806-07 Melbourne 64 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 59 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 50 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 57 - Version 2
120806-07 Melbourne 56 - Version 2 (1) 120806-07 Melbourne 52 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 48 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 47 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 63 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 44 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 43 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 42 - Version 2 120806-07 Melbourne 46 - Version 2

 

 

One thought on “A Fresh Luminary

Leave a Reply

