Aside / Design / STUDIO e*

Quote unQuote

Who doesn’t love a good quote, those short sentiments, questions and ideas that seem to sum up complex ideas in just a few words?

Some of my favourite quotes originate from the writings and wisdom of King Solomon, the biblical King who reigned from  970 to 931 BC. So many of his ideas resonate with me . . .

A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance.

Train up a child in the way that he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

A good name is rather to be chosen than riches.

Another favourite is Eleanor Roosevelt who said this  . . .

Happiness is not a goal, it is a by-product

and Jonathan Sacks who uttered these  . . .

God has given us many faiths but only one world in which to co-exist. May your work help all of us to cherish our commonalities and feel enlarged by our differences.

Peace can be agreed around the conference table, but unless it grows in ordinary hearts and minds, it does not last. It may not even begin.

We should challenge the relativism that tells us there is no right or wrong, when every instinct of our mind knows it is not so, and is a mere excuse to allow us to indulge in what we believe we can get away with. A world without values quickly becomes a world without value.

No to mention some of the other quotes I’ve replayed on a number of occasions –

It’s all fun and games till you cop a tail on the tinny.

Karl Stefanovic on whale watching season in Sydney

The most amazing things that can happen to a human being will happen to you, if you just lower your expectations.

Phil Dunphy  / Modern Family

Men want the same thing from their underwear that they want from women: a little bit of support, and a little bit of freedom.

Jerry Seinfeld

[The three guys above have me laughing out loud every week without fail.]

In the past few years I’ve also come across some great, illustrated examples online.  I’ve been saving them in my aptly names “quotes” folder and then just yesterday I decided to upload them to all to Pinterest.  That way I can view them all in one easy place (much like a pinboard) and share them with other keen “pinteresters”.

I’ve posted a few of my favourites below, which I’ve also illustrated.  Perhaps I’ll print them and add them to my growing art collection of photographs and posters . . .

Do you have any quotable favourites?

——-

2 thoughts on “Quote unQuote

  1. My Favorite from an all time favorite the late JR Ewing: “Never tell the truth when a good lie’ll do!”

Leave a Reply

