Food / Photography / STUDIO e*

Farm Fresh

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of the (supposedly fresh) supermarket produce here.  The fruit and vegetables just aren’t up to scratch.  The duopoly of supermarkets can sing about their so-called “fresh” until they are, quite frankly, blue in the face, but you’re not going to convince me that it is.  Bland, frozen, thawed, re-frozen.  No thanks.

It’s actually quite a bizarre, given the quality of restaurant and cafe cuisine here, not to mention a very well-educated foodie population.  As a result, I’m always on the lookout for quality replacements.  There are quite a few good organic supermarkets but many of them charge obscene amounts of money for their produce.  Ironic that.  So when a friend suggested I join her on her weekly Wednesday pilgrimage to the EQ Village Markets at Fox Studios, I was fairly game. I say fairly, because I once attempted to buy one banana there, only to be told it was $1.40.  Yip.  INSANE.  Anyhoo, I figured I’d give it another shot.

The EQ Village Markets is an outdoor (covered) producers’ market set in the grounds of the Entertainment Quarter near Moore Park.  It’s small (which I like) and offers a fairly wide range of fresh produce, including (but not limited to) fruit and veg, cheeses, breads, fresh cut flowers and pastries.  They also have a Toby’s Estate coffee stand, which is fabulous, given that my new weekly pilgrimage is an early morning affair.

My friend introduced me to her favourite stand, Mu Organically Pure, which offers the freshest, freshest, freshest fruit and vegetables at the market. So fresh, you can play spot-the-garden-snail and simultaneously take in the heady scent of freshly tilled soil.  I know, I’m such a city girl, I’d almost forgotten what fresh really smelled like.  After ogling over the bounty, I settled on some kale and rhubarb and a posy of fresh poppies.  I also got some great advice from Lynn (one of the super knowledgable staff members) about how to start, fertilise and maintain my soon-to-be inaugurated veggie patch, the soon-to-be extension of my new little garden.

Unfortunately, it’s not feasible to do all my fresh fruit and veg shopping at EQ, but it’s a great spot to pick up some really healthy, organic goodies each week.  In fact, the kale inspired me to make Kale Chips which have become my new favourite snack.  Seriously.  Give it a go.  You won’t be disappointed.

——–

8 thoughts on “Farm Fresh

  1. Yay Felix got a run

    From: HOW I SEE IT Reply-To: HOW I SEE IT Date: Tue, 11 Jun 2013 01:39:41 +0000 To: Larnce Gold Subject: [New post] Farm Fresh

    WordPress.com elana castle posted: “It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of the (supposedly fresh) supermarket produce here. The fruit and vegetables just aren’t up to scratch. The duopoly of supermarkets can sing about their so-called “fresh” until they are, quite frankly, blue in the face,”

    • Here you go (-:

      Ingredients
      1 head kale, washed and thoroughly dried
      2 tablespoons olive oil
      Sea salt, for sprinkling

      Directions
      Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.
      Remove the ribs from the kale and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces. Lay on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil and salt. Bake until crisp, turning the leaves halfway through, about 20 minutes.

  2. was about to ask for kale chips recipe – so happy you beat me to it mama castle!
    love the post lani. the poppy pic is my best. beautiful! x

Leave a Reply

