Food / Photography / Religion

Like Manna from Heaven

There’s nothing quite like the smell of fresh bread.

Let me go one step further.

There is nothing quite the smell, look and feel of freshly made challah bread.

Challah (also called kitka or plaited bread) is a traditional Jewish loaf, reserved for consumption on the Jewish Sabbath.

You can buy them in almost any supermarket but they taste (and smell) soooooo much better when made fresh.  The only catch is that they take quite a bit of time to prepare.  I’ve been threatening to make my own for many years but somehow never got round to it.  Then, a few Friday nights ago, I went for dinner to my friends Jacqui and Avishay.  When I saw (and tasted) Jacqui’s homemade challot, I was spurred into action!  They were delicious and probably the best I have ever tasted.  Jacqui sent me the recipe*, which I have edited into eleven steps.

I tried it out for the first time last week.  I think that they came out reasonably well.  My dough was a bit dry (could be the result of the cold weather we’ve been having lately and/or my constant fussing with it while I was attempting to plait multiple braids).  I also charred my raisins.  (A friend pointed out that if you use raisins, fold them into the dough before baking!)  I also think my plaiting could do with some improvement.  Next time, I plan to use the following link which I think is really useful.  Overall, it was great to have my own homemade challot grace the Friday night table.  For those of you who don’t celebrate the Sabbath, you can’t go wrong with freshly made loafs, plaited or unplaited!

*Contact me if you’d like the full recipe which includes the appropriate blessings and the process of “taking the challah”.

—-

5 thoughts on “Like Manna from Heaven

Leave a comment